The CliftonStrengths Test: A new look at the same Me

I just had the pleasure of taking the CliftonStrengths test through work. I found the experience to be very similar to every other personality test out there. Exceedingly hard to take as a mind that is made up of many minds. As odd as it sounds it also throws into sharp relief those things that each one of us individually do on a daily basis as a sense of moving forward.

Largely we had Riven take the personality test since she’s most often the one of us that goes to work. Every now and again if she’d get stumped by a question we’d come forward and answer it for her. So now let’s look at that set of 5 through the lens of someone with Disassociative Identity Disorder and who actually took it.

The top 5 “Themes” that I was awarded were as follows.
1 Strategic (Riven)
2 Futuristic (Asher, Saberlin(Sylvia))
3 Individualization (Spitfyre)
4 Competition (Carbon, Riven, Spitfyre)
5 Maximizer (All, as it’s a combination of everything above at it’s core) <–great, one thing we can decide on. The funny thing is, “technically” we all do all things. HA! If only it were really that simple….

Strategic:
-sort through the clutter and find the best route (screw sidewalks yo.)
-Allows you to see patterns (“that’s the fastest anyone has matched all those symbols in all the years I’ve done this assessment!”)
-Helps you see around the next corner
-“What if?” Select. Strike. <– This is so Riven in a nutshell. Gather info, QUICKLY analyze, execute.

Futuristic:
-the kind of person who loves to peer over the horizon (“Bring me that Horizon.”<–Like you didn’t hear that coming.)
-you see in detail what the future might hold (I feel like as a Strategist these two go very closely hand in hand. I can dream it, AND I will find the right path of least resistance to make it happen.)
-You are a dreamer who sees visions of what could be and who cherishes those visions.
-People will want to latch on to the HOPE you bring. (One of the things I hope I can do is bring people together and under the banners that we SHARE, celebrate the differences, and move forward as a WORLDS people not just a Nations people.)

Individualization:
-Instinctively observe each persons style, each persons motivation, how each thinks, and how each builds relationships. (if you get the creepy feeling I’m watching your every move… you’re completely correct.)
-You can draw out the best in each person
-know instinctively that the secret to great teams is casting each individual towards their personal strengths. <–freaking dur right? Do people really not do this?

Competition:
-Always aware of others performances
-Even if you reach your goal, if you don’t “win” the “achievement” can feel hollow.
-If you compete, you compete to win.
-Attracted to competitions and contests where you know you have the inside track *LOOOL Go fast turn left!* to be the winner. *Inside passes all day!*
-Although gracious to fellow competitors  and even stoic in defeat, internally you may fume over the loss. (shhhhhh, stop knowing Carbon so well >.> *gloomy lil storm cloud*)

Maximizer:
-Transforming something strong into something superb takes just as much effort as taking something from below average to slightly above average, but is much more thrilling. Strengths, whether yours or someone else’s fascinate you.
-Like a diver after pearls, you search them out, for telltale signs of a strength. *Yes, once again… I’m gonna find your pearl, and I’m going to help you polish it to greatness…. I did mention that there’d be sandpaper and hard work involved right?*
-You choose to spend time with people who appreciate your particular strengths. Likewise you are attracted to others who seem to have found and cultivated their own strengths. <–THIS IS WHY ARTISTS GET ALONG FOLKS.

Anyway, largely I wanted another place to go over this as I’ve already spent most of my morning pouring over the 19 page packet that comes with this to tell me just what sort of person I am. I have found though, that with all of these personality tests they of course only go so far and say only so much about a person. We need to remember to be careful how much of someone else’s truths we take on as our own as the truths of others can have a habit of being detrimental. We must always look then, with a somewhat skeptical eye and take only that which will help us to improve. (and in stating that is actually something a Futurist does… LOL.)

What this did make me realize is that I am currently working a job that doesn’t align with what I can do best. How does one apply those things to loan documentation. I’m sure they are going to be able to give me a fine answer for just that question. However, whether or not it will actually help to give me any further satisfaction at the flavor of doing my job is an entirely different story. Yes. I said flavor. Shut up. I want my work to taste good too. It made sense in my head anyway.

I want, ultimately, to inspire greatness in others through the use of my art, through posting on this blog as well as my other social media accounts and I want people to feel as though they are going to be able to not only make a difference in others but also within themselves and find their own inner strengths. When it spoke above about finding that pearl and polishing it to a shine, that’s what I want to do. I want to help everyone that comes in to my stream to be inspired by fitness, by mental health, by physical health, by spiritual exploration within themselves to find their “true” self.

Goals Then:
-Complete all final shipments for the Coloring book. Close that project.
-Work more on Portfolio
-Catalog and post all sketchbooks for sale on my website
-Complete website… (oops)
-with cataloged work, come out with art books
-create prints to sell on the website
-Continue to build a safe space in my stream to discuss mental health awareness and actively help people gain the courage to get help.

—–all goals apparently currently revolve around art. Let’s look at some that aren’t.
-get a job that fits my desires, passions, and interests more.
-hit a 225 deadlift by my 32nd birthday, then surpass it.
-SURF: keep getting better. Get “Air” by November of this year.
-get credit card refinanced, lower payments, decrease debt to income ratio more.

This year is going to be another year of super hard work and pushing a lot of different dreams towards reality, but I know I can do it if I continue forward with the same vigor that I’ve so far had, and hopefully it will only grow from here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

