Toolbox of Success: Positivity and Hard Work

There are two ways to approach every situation you enter.

“I can.”

“I can’t.”

These two simple statements can have drastic affects on the outcome of whatever it is you are trying to do. Positivity naturally will reinforce what you are doing and with that confidence it will help you see the action through. To have and carry doubt will mean your brain and body will look for ways to fail to prove yourself right. “See, I told you I couldn’t do it.”

While learning how to do Olympic Weightlifting through Crossfit I have had this experience time and time and time again. It doesn’t matter if I have 15 pounds on the bar, or 100 pounds, if I believe it’s too heavy to lift… it’s too heavy. If I approach the bar with a good attitude, and trust in my technique, suddenly I’ll find over 100 pounds above my head with a split jerk.

In weightlifting as in life one has to trust in their practiced techniques and in themselves. If you walk into an a job or opportunity believing you can’t then you absolutely will not. If you have a positive outlook your mind is going to look for ways to help you succeed. You want to believe in your own truths and you will go out of your way to make them true whether or not you are looking for a good or a bad outcome. Whichever you really believe is the one you are going to gravitate towards.

It goes back to the simple saying of “You can do whatever you put your mind to.”

It’s a sort of “TLDR: Too long didn’t read” sort of statement. It doesn’t incorporate all of the work that it takes to truly get to the point of “doing whatever you put your mind to.” What it does give you is a place to start.

**************************************

“I’m going to get this job.”
Tell yourself you’re going to obtain your goal, and say it with all the conviction you can muster and don’t stop saying it until you really believe it.

Dress to Impress
You don’t have to spend 50+ dollars on a good interview outfit. In fact over the last 10 years I think my most expensive was a total of 40.00 and that was including a pair of shoes and a small clutch. Thank you Goodwill and TJMaxx. Dress in something that you feel empowered in. Whether thats a suite, a killer pencil skirt, slacks and a blouse. At the end of your preparations you should be able to look in the mirror and say, “Oh yah. I got this”

Work your Hardest, Every, Single, Day.
Whether you are working towards getting your dream job, or you are at a job already there’s one thing to keep in mind. Stay positive, “I’m good at my job,” and prove it through hard work. Making sure you are prompt and on time, working until the end of your shift, fulfilling all duties required and making time to Improve those duties in whatever way you can. My father always told me if I could outwork and out present the other 9 people that I was working with (assuming there are 10) I’d always have a job. This has proven true at every job I’ve had and has helped me to start climbing ladders as I choose when they become available. It’s also something that ANYONE can do. All you have to do is decide you want it and hold firm with your dedication.

Don’t Let Hard Work Get Bring You Down.
One thing I think a lot of people forget *myself included at times* is that hard work is exactly as it sounds. It’s hard. It takes a lot of time and a hell of a lot more energy than most of us would like to admit. You have to work hard day in and day out and really prioritize the things you want in your life. For instance: I want to be a full time creative designer and concept artist for games. Even though I work a 40 hour week at my Caterpillar job I go home, spend a little time with my dogs and dive into hours of streaming art and working towards that other goal. Yes it’s exhausting, no I haven’t seen the latest episode of whatever is popular and no I can’t play most games that are out there past about lvl 10 because I just don’t have the time. What I Do have though is a skill set that is ever growing and becoming more and more polished.
You know what else? Seeing the improvements made from the time and effort put in even month to month with my art is exceedingly rewarding and lets me know that yes, all this hard work is paying off. Yours will too.

**************************************************

Reinforce the positive in your life and understand that while it may take time, it’s absolutely worth the effort. Understand and be gentle with yourself if you have a hard day, but don’t let it control you. Take time to recover from the bad day and get right back at it 100% again.  As I write these I find a couple of things that repeat themselves.

-Staying positive

-Learning how to dust yourself off from the bad or mishaps or negativity and continuing on with your head held high.

These messages will continue through my Blog whether I’m talking about self improvement, work, or art.

UP NEXT Furthered Education: Be on the leading edge.

Leave a Reply

