HuvrTech and their hoverboard

Did any of you see this today? 

WWW.Huvrtech.com 

If not you must have been completely living under a rock or unplugged from any and all social media. If it’s the latter of the two, props. I can’t seem to unplug even when I want to, and especially when sick and I should be sleeping. 

There are things I like about the possibility that this is the real deal. I mean hello, what kid isn’t going to want one under the Christmas Tree this year? The profit alone could balance the American budget. OK maybe not quite but I wanted to use a near ginormahuge amount and that was the closest I could think of. 

Secondly, an advancement in technology that wasn’t a new phone feature, medical, or military. Something for transportation that if done right could legitimately revolutionize transportation. Why yes, I will ride my Hover board to and from work daily, Thank you for asking. 

Thirdly, imagination. Pure and simple. I love imagining that this is real. Wanna know what I just emailed the site? 

Please be real, and question :

Would the weight of stickers or paint on the board alter the performance? How can people further customize their boards with out jeopardizing the integrity. 

Yup. As an artist I saw a surface. Not only for personal mods but can you imagine being the first shop to release skins for the board?! Paint jobs?! HELLO! 

What I don’t like about this new site:

-I immediately feel like I’m being deceived. Does that mean I’m just old and jaded? Lost touch with believing in the near impossible? God’s I hope not. Part of being an artist is drawing impossible things into reality. 

But honestly, why lie about a product and push again and again across Twitter, Facebook and other social media sites that it’s real? If it’s about another Back to the Future Movie then just say so. If it’s for a damned Tony hawk game, just say so. Don’t lie about a product. It’s bad marketing and people are already pissed off about it. In fact I should count the death threats alone that have been received by the company on both Facebook and Twitter in just one day! Which to me…. Is really sad. 

-The last portion of the Legal Terms page on the site reads as follows. 

http://huvrtech.com/legal.html

“HUVr may make any other changes to the site, the materials and the products, programs, services or prices (if any) described in the site at any time without notice. This site and the information and materials on this site are provided “as is” without any representation or warranty, express or implied, of any kind, including, but not limited to, warranties of merchantability, noninfringement, or fitness for any particular purpose. These Terms and Conditions may be revised at any time and from time to time by updating this posting. You should visit this page from time to time to review the then current Terms and Conditions because they are binding on you. Certain provisions of these Terms and Conditions may be superseded by legal notices or terms located on particular pages of this website. You or we may suspend or terminate your use of this website at any time, for any reason or for no reason. We reserve the right to change, suspend, or discontinue all or any aspect of this website at any time without notice”

Wait, go back, see that part where it says “services or prices (if any)”? 

Uh oh. You mean, there might not be a price because their might not be a product because you might all be lying mean cruel individuals? OK maybe cruel is taking it too far, but there’s this whole thing out there about false advertising and the mess it can create. 

 

So what gives? Is the board real other than to stick on my shelf as a cool prop? Or am I just a hopeful dreamer? 

What about you? Board or no board, I spent the day dreaming of the time I could upgrade my hover board and ride it Sky high. 

 

Leave a Reply

